Christmas Isn’t Found in a Cup…

I can’t help but notice a very disturbing trend this year of negative attitudes towards the way people choose to celebrate the Christmas season. It started a few weeks ago when my news feed started filling up with posts about shopping malls being decorated too early. From there it went to the complaints about Christmas music being on too soon. This week everyone is riled up about a ridiculous red cup at Starbucks. REALLY…is griping over decorations, music, and cup designs sold at an overpriced coffee chain the way you want to head into the Christmas season?

grinch

Last December I was in a very different place emotionally than I am this year. I allowed the opinions of others to get the best of me and was facing the reality of going back to teaching sooner than I had hoped after years of being a stay-at-home mom. Money was beyond tight and I spent the majority of the Christmas season miserable. I wasn’t in it for my kids and although I am sure they have no recollection of the half-hearted effort I put into the season I will never forget what it felt like to drag myself through every single day feeling like I was failing in all aspects of my life.

This year I am going into the Christmas season with a completely different attitude. I have found a way to work from home and provide for my family while continuing to live my dream as a stay-at-home mom. I feel happier and healthier than ever and want to sing Christmas carols from the rooftops! Nothing is going to stop me and so what if the Christmas season is spilling into the month of November? Is that really the worst thing in the world? Maybe that person decorating their house in November was going through a tough time and wasn’t full of Christmas cheer last December. What if the person listening to Christmas carols before the turkey says, “Gobble gobble” just lost a loved one and is enjoying the comfort that Christmas songs bring? Whatever the reason for the extension of the Christmas season, I think it is important to remember that when we live in a world where so much can go wrong, complaining about the overlapping of giving thanks for all that we have and celebrating the season of giving with family and friends just seems really silly.

This scene from The Honeymooner’s Christmas Special 

reminds me of what this season should be about.

the-honeymooners-twas-the-night-before-christmas-06

With a grateful heart,

Robyn

Leave a comment

Filed under Holidays

Leave a Reply

